Eustaquio hacks win in rough night for Team Lakay

FRIDAY’S “ONE: Inside The Matrix III” proved to be a rough night for Baguio-based Team Lakay after only one of its three featured fighters came out victorious.

Former ONE Championship world flyweight champion Geje “Gravity” Eustaquio saved his team from being shut out in the Singapore event by defeating South Korean Song Min Jong by unanimous decision in their scheduled three-round co-main event.

Fighting anew after his last fight in November 2019, Mr. Eustaquio (13-8) made it back-to-back wins by dominating Mr. Song in a fight where the Filipino showed a lot of bounce in his game.

Mr. Eustaquio was in his element, using his experience in keeping his opponent’s attempt at controlling the match at bay.

The South Korean tried to employ his grappling, but Mr. Eustaquio would have none of that en route to getting the nod of all judges for the UD victory.

Not so fortunate, meanwhile, were former bantamweight champion Kevin “The Silencer” Belingon and strawweight Lito “Thunder Kid” Adiwang, who lost to Brazilian John Lineker and Japanese Hiroba Minowa, respectively.

Mr. Belingon fell by technical knockout in the second round while Mr. Adiwang was edged out in a split decision.

Despite going 1-2 for the night at Inside The Matrix III, Team Lakay remains optimistic of what lies ahead for it moving forward just as it thanked its supporters for having its back.

“In spite of the losses, we, as Team Lakay, would like to thank all of the true Lakay fans who have supported us through and through. Whether it be wins or losses, you are still there with us. Aside from family and honor, you, our fans have been one of our motivations to keep on pushing through… as we enter the ring/cage,” Team Lakay wrote on its official Facebook page.

Next for ONE Championship is the fourth edition of its “Inside The Matrix” offering on Nov. 20 also in Singapore. — Michael Angelo S. Murillo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>