New SC justice applicants named


The Supreme Court (SC) has released a list of the 11 applicants vying for the associate justice position.

Of the 11 applicants, two are from outside the Judiciary, namely Commission on Elections chief Antonio T. Kho, Jr. and Finance Undersecretary Antonette C. Tionko.

The other applicants are Apolinario D. Bruselas Jr., Amparo M. Cabotaje-Tang, Ramon A. Cruz, Japar B. Dimaampao, Geraldine Faith A. Econg, Jose Midas P. Marquez, Ronaldo Roberto B. Martin, Maria Filomena D. Singh, and Raul B. Villanueva.

Meanwhile, President Rodrigo R. Duterte has approved the appointment of Jose C. Faustino, Jr. as the new chief of staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

In a July 29 letter to Defense Secretary Delfin N. Lorenzana made public on Friday, the presidential palace said his appointment would take effect on Saturday. — Bianca Angelica D. Anago

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>